“OMG their listening bro”

I’m working on creating a podcast with a friend of mine, he’s a dope producer, crep connoisseur, tastemaker type. He’s been around the scene way before I was getting into Jumpoff events at 16. Anyway…..

We have a massive desire to see Grime be considered as a legitimate, reputable global genre. I mean, there is no Grime category at the Brits and Grime is a British born Genre that has made waves and influenced artists who have won the Brits from the UK and across the atlantic…anyway!

We just want people to put some Respek on it!

Too long have we lurked in the shadows while the smart, forward thinking observers came, borrowed and bounced.

Many a time Americans (especially) paint a picture of thick accented, no swag having, cringe worthy speed rappers. But now it seems that people are finally starting to hear us. I mean really LISTENING to the music. From the UK trap sounds of Don’t Waste My Time to the UK Drill Movement and Infectious Grime anthem Shutdown.

During a discussion with my pal he said to me “Oh my God, they’re listening bro, they are actually listening” – to the words, the lyrics etc etc. But why now?

I have many theories and I’m sure none of them are right nor are solely the reason, but humour me.

  1. Young Thug. Ha. Now I’m a big fan of young thug, a big fan. I sometimes sit there and think how the hell did he come up with that melody. Sonically he is a beast. I mention the rich gang frontrunner, but I only mention him because I think he’s the leader of the new school for completely inarticulate artists. Student’s include Future, Designer etc. He represents a new wave of rapper/urban singer, type artist whose words aren’t the most important thing. I don’t mean this in the modern Mr WorldWide Pitbull kinda way, I mean we literally you don’t have to understand what they are saying. I get crucified for likening Young thug to Michael Jackson. Hear me out, When I was young and maybe because I was young, I remember not really understanding what the moon walker was saying, till this day I realise I had words completely wrong. I’m not a kid anymore but I know it’s about how I connect with the music on so many different levels even though for the most part i’m a purist and want BARS. So if we are in an age where the lyrics aren’t all that important all the time, has that knocked away the ol ‘we don’t understand em’ rationale? in a weird way has mumble rap saved Grime? NO but it might have helped. Can you imagine a Young Thug vs Flirta D mixtape though?!?!

  2. Rosenberg and Co. Mad respect to Peter, he’s been backing UK artists for a while, whilst his knowledge does seem a bit iffy at times (like most people, even artists within the scene), I do see a real passion and enthusiasm for UK urban culture. You can see videos with him and Stormzy eating bagels, see him interviewing Little Simz, Krept and Konan plus lets not forget the Rap VS Grime mixtape with Chip – “PEPPER” a few other DJ’s in the US are pretty down too Cipha Sounds and DJ Whoo Kid go hard! 

  3. So the artists that are being celebrated, stolen from, ridiculed. Those guys might have something to do with it. I’ve felt like a collection of UK artists were not brave enough to fly the flag completely and diluted their sound along the way before completely cementing the sound they repped. Nowadays it seems different and we seem more unapologetic in the way we present ourselves and our music. Skepta’s That’s not me “I used to wear Gucci, put it all in the bin cause that’s not me” or Ace Hood flow ” The UK run out of ideas, Everybody doing covers of American beats” or perfect statements in this regard.

  4. Platforms, stepping up, higher levels (see what I did there) GRM Daily, Link Up TV, SBTV, GRIME REPORT, Seb King, Spiff TV, NFTR, JDZMedia, BBC 1Xtra, Even don’t flop did a history of Grime video.

    4.5. Don’t Flop has lot to do with the positive perceptions from our transatlantic cousins and worldwide. Exports like Shotty Horroh have really thrived in the Renaissance of Battle Rap, Shotty is a stand out battle rapper with a huge following, record breaking battles vs Global Names on major platforms from KOTD to UW. and has been deep behind enemy lines and won the crowd over against Cali heavyweight Daylyt.

  5. Youtube(rs) @ToobluntTV @ThatdudeMCfly. 1’s American and literally goes on the streets and spreads the gospel of Grime like a Jehovah’s witness and the latter and super funny Canadian with a love for grime and the similarities in UK and Canadian street culture. Youtube and those who make content are very important in terms of reaching the masses.

  6. Drake, Kanye, Chris Brown & Aezalia Banks. Everyday it seems like another ‘big’ artist is putting their two pence in when it comes to whats happening in the UK. Positive or negative, no promo is bad promo right? We have seen Kanye at the brits, Drake with Section and BBK, Breezy doing his best Nicki Minaj impression. Ha…….. The question is are they culture vultures? is the love real? only time will tell.

  7. Time. I guess it’s pretty simple, it was all just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

